Cities Stand Up for the Federal EV Tax Credit - Drive Electric Northern Colorado

DENC On Twitter


Cities Stand Up for the Federal EV Tax Credit

    |    Categories: Featured, Media, Partners & Supporters     |    Tags: ,

With oil providing 92 percent of all transportation energy, the U.S. has an overwhelming dependence on crude oil—a volatile commodity, prone to price spikes and produced mainly in countries where political tensions run high. Electric vehicles (EVs) are the only readily-available alternative to this reliance on oil, providing Americans with a wide range of economic, national security and health benefits in the process.

The federal EV tax credit is one of the strongest policy tools available to reduce this reliance, and consumer incentives are crucial for encouraging drivers to make the early-stage switch to drive electric. The EV tax credit (Section 30D) allows consumers to claim up to $7,500 when purchasing an EV anywhere in the country. Yet as tax reform efforts near completion on Capitol Hill, the future of this incentive is at risk.

In its tax legislation, the U.S. House of Representatives has removed the federal EV tax credit. Although the Senate passed a tax bill that retained the credit, its protection is still far from assured as discussions continue.

In response, mayors and community leaders from across the country are voicing their support for this critical credit. Led by the Electrification Coalition (EC) and the City of Atlanta, 22 cities have signed on and sent a letter to Capitol Hill urging for Congress to protect the federal EV tax credit.

We invite Mayors from additional cities to join this letter. To join, please email and provide the following information:

Mayors name to be listed on the letter and the city.
Name, title, email address, and phone # for the point of contact for the city

Click here to read the letter.

The signers include:
The Honorable Mayor Kasim Reed
Atlanta, GA

The Honorable Mayor Buddy Dyer
Orlando, FL

The Honorable Mayor Darrell Steinberg
Sacramento, CA

The Honorable Mayor Catherine Pugh
Baltimore, MD

The Honorable Mayor Greg Stanton
Phoenix, AZ

The Honorable Mayor Ted Winterer
Santa Monica, CA

The Honorable Mayor Suzanne Jones
Boulder, CO

The Honorable Mayor Lucy Vinis
Eugene, OR

The Honorable Mayor Ted Wheeler
Portland, OR

The Honorable Mayor Jackie Biskupski
Salt Lake City, UT

The Honorable Mayor Ken Rosenberg
Mountain View, CA

The Honorable Mayor Libby Schaaf
Oakland, CA

The Honorable Mayor Ras J. Baraka
Newark, NJ

The Honorable Mayor Steve Skadron
Aspen, CO

The Honorable Mayor Svante Myrick
Ithaca, NY

The Honorable Mayor Jesse Arreguin
Berkeley, CA

The Honorable Mayor Matthew Larson
Snoqualmie, WA

The Honorable Mayor Greg Fischer
Louisville, KY

The Honorable Mayor Ed Lee
San Francisco, CA

The Honorable Mayor Jim Kenney
Philadelphia, PA

The Honorable Mayor Eric Garcetti
Los Angeles, CA

The Honorable Mayor Andrew J. Ginther
Columbus, OH


View original article here.